Roles

<< Click to display table of contents >>

Navigation:  Administration > Users and Rights >

Roles

Using roles is a tool that makes it possible to assign different permissions to users more effectively without having to review all the settings each time.

The idea here is to create a standardized role for different types of users (e.g., admin, regular user, translator) and then, when needed, simply assign the appropriate users to that role.

The "Roles" menu item summarizes all roles. Here, it is possible to create new roles and manage the roles and their settings. The installation package includes a number of sample roles that can be used for inspiration or as templates.

Admin_Rollen

Creating a Role

1.Create a new role by clicking the New button or using the context menu. (Alternatively: Duplicate an existing role)

2.Fill out the header tab

▪Code

▪Description

▪Default language (For more information: Language Settings)

▪Categories 1–3 and comment: Free form text fields can be used for a more exact classification/filter when using lots of roles, e.g., Category 1 = MTM Support

3.Assignment of users, functions, administrative functions, folder permissions, allowed module configurations, allowed data cards, and allowed print forms in the corresponding tabs

4.Save

Selection of the default language in the "Header" tab of a role

Selection of the default language in the "Header" tab of a role

Please note:

Roles that are included per default are examples and should be replaced by own roles.

Time limitation for a role

Starting with TiCon Version 4.10, the validity of a role can be limited in time.

Work steps:

1.Open Admin

2.Navigate to the Users and Permissions section

3.Open the Roles section

4.Open the desired role

5.In the role header, select the Enable time limitation for role validity checkbox
 
admin_rollen_gültigkeit

6.Define the default value for the role's validity in the corresponding field
 
admin_rolle_zeit
 
If the value 0 is entered, the role is valid indefinitely.

7.Switch to the Users tab

8.Assign the desired users to the role

9.Save

Display in the User tab

admin_rolle_zeit2

Three new columns are displayed in the right-hand half of a role's Users tab, as well as in the Roles tab for users:

▪Effective as of (enter date)

▪Validity Period (enter number of days)

▪Valid until (date)

Impact on users who have already been assigned

If the time limitation is enabled at the header of the role, all users already assigned to it will receive:

▪as effective date: the current date

▪as the validity period: the role's default value

Expiration of roles

A role becomes inactive automatically on its expiration date. When you log in, a message will appear if an assigned role has expired.

Every time TiCon is started, a permission check is performed automatically, which also takes into account the expiration dates of roles. If the expiration date has passed, the role is no longer taken into account in the authorization scheme - regardless of whether it continues to be displayed to the user in the interface.

Please note:

If TiCon remains running overnight, an expired roll may continue to be displayed until TiCon is restarted.

Removing expired roles

Expired rolls can be deleted just like regular rolls using the Remove button.

Duplicating a Role

In order to duplicate a role, select the required role and then choose the option Duplicate in the ribbon.

Please note:

When duplicating a role, the users and roles assigned to the original role are also duplicated. If you want to delete a duplicated role, you have to remove the assignment of the role at the user(s) first.